Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help for a complete novice

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAGONITWIT

Hello and thanks in advance for any help or guidance.

I have a need for a device to control wheelstands on a drag race car. I've done some limited research and have found a component that I think may work toward that goal but I don't know how to utilize the technology the device holds. It's an Inertial Rate Gyro Sensor. See link.

**broken link removed**

What I really need is a dc voltage signal that I will use to trigger my ignition system to reduce ignition timing to the engine as long as the signal is present. The reduction in ignition timing will reduce available horsepower enough to keep the car from rising higher without decreasing throttle position. When the car returns to the position that the signal is lost, the ignition timing would return to normal.

I know nothing about what it takes to make this device sense that there is a change in pitch. I can give the sensor a "start" point that I would want to start getting the signal from it by jacking up the front of the car to the point that I don't want it to exceed but I'm not sure if that's the way to approach it.

I know that more information is probably needed but this is a start.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? Am I looking in the right direction?

Karl

How about using a tilt sensor?

Google for acceleration circuits.

Boncuk