Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help designing analogue switch sytem

Status
Not open for further replies.

danger_85

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to electronics and circuits and could really use some help with a circuit I have been trying to design for my Thesis. What I have is a joystick with an 8 way hat. I need to convert the signals from the hat onto one channel to send through to an external A/D card. My problem is the 8-way hat uses four buttons that when pressed determine what position the hat is in. eg: up, button 1 is pressed, Bottom right, buttons 2 and 3 are pressed at the same time.

**broken link removed**

I am trying to design a circuit similar to the one linked above, however I need each combination to have a distinct voltage drop so it can be interpreted by the computer running the system. I can not manage to get the parrallel loops to produce a distinct voltage drop from the single loops, ie when only one switch is closed. I know I have to alter the resistors but have had no luck finding a combination that works. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Hope this makes sense. LOL.

Cheers
Danger

Fairly obviously you need to provide the greatest voltage swing you can.

So for a start one button should short it completely to ground. This gives you two reference points, 5V (no button) 0V (the lowest button), this leaves three buttons in between those two points - so calculate the values to spread then evenly.