Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help designing a Freezer Door Open Alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

chipstix24

Hi there to you all,

I am a novice, and could really do with some help with (what I am sure is) a very simple circuit. My apologies if a similar circuit has already been posted I have searched, but the closest I got is:

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/digital-readout-for-load-cell.7101/

with the image fridge.gif

Problem: my freezer door that keeps not quite closing (especially when I was the last person to get something from the freezer!!) = soggy frozen food, and an enraged girlfriend!

Alternatives: Accept that I could go for a mechanical solution such as a sprung hinge, but would rather a buzzer alarm solution. Would also prefer not to use a LDR or similar as there is no light in the freezer, and, in fact I'm not sure any circuit I could build would work at freezer temperatures (<30degC?).

Requirement spec:
- Simple Freezer door ajar/open alarm circuit
- Operated from a 9V battery (flexible on this but aiming to minimise overall size)
- Would quite like to use magnet (on door) and relay/circuit mounted on fridge main body.
- If door is not closed completely, a buzzer will start sounding after a certain time has elapsed e.g. 45 seconds (perhaps adjustable by a potentiometer/variable resistor?).

Bit of a novice, but happy to find components and build once I have a circuit and component list to work to!

Any help would be tremendous!