Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help designing a cicut to pass only certain ttl pulses

Status
Not open for further replies.

youicide

Let me start off by saying that I am not an EE I'm a chemist of sorts, more of an instrument person. We have a source of +5V TTL pulses coming at 80 MHz and we only want to pass ones when a sine sync voltage is below a certain level or above a certain level and we need to be able to switch between the two, hopefully programatically (or with a control voltage from a DAQ or whatever). Also we need the voltage pass level to be adjustable. I apologize if this is a bit confusing but the attached figure should give an idea of what I need. If someone could point me in the right direction or if they gave me a design I could throw 20 bucks their way as it would save me a lot of hassle.

I don't work for a company, I'm at a large research university (Emory).

Thanks

Attachments

• sync-figure.png
    sync-figure.png
    97.6 KB · Views: 298
You could use an LM339 analog comparator to generate the gate signal. One differential input of the comparator is the Sync signal and the other is the trigger level voltage. The LM339 has four comparators in one package so you could use one to generate the upper gate and one to generate the lower gate by inverting the input connections to one of them. The desired gate output could be selected by a dual AND-OR gate controlled by a digital signal. This feeds another AND gate to gate the 80MHz signal.