Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help - Absolute beginner.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boondime

Hi everyone,

I really know nothing about electronics and need some help. You guys come highly recommended.

I need to produce a device which increments a digital display as you turn a dial such as a volume control.

ie From any point on the dial - set Zero and then display say 1 to 100 + with each turn. (3 turns = 300 in the display) but could be any number.

Should be able to show both positive (Clockwise) and negative numbers (Anticlockwise turns) but that is nice - not essential.

Simpler smaller and cheaper - the better - has anyone any ideas.

Any dial device that I can attach to the other dial will do.

Help would be much appreciated.

Steve.

An optical encoder physically resembles a pot but closes the circuit N times per rotation of the shaft. The encoders I use generate 128 "clicks" per shaft, but I would guess that there must exist some that generate 100 or so. Most of the encoders only generate pulses as the shaft is turned past each detent. There are some that tell you absolute position, though I have never used those. In any case, you should be able to take the encoder input to a simple microcontroller and have the software determine the current value to show on the display. If you are using 7 segment displays, you can scan them quickly save some hardware.