Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hello, I'm new to Electronic circuits, how do I get info. on electronic tach for m.c.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwotoole

Please help. How can I use an ici 555 as tacho. for motorcycle ??

:confused: I have found a few schematics that show how to use a 555 timer as a simple tachometer. They all state that the income are pulses that are collected at the low side of the ignition, the breaker points. My bike has an electronic ignition, if I used one of these 555 based tachs on my bike will it cause any harm to the ignition? The bike, a Harley Sportster, already has the wiring for a tach. routed from the ignition, but no tach. (I do believe).

Last edited:
Well Paddy boy, looks like you'll have to go elsewhere for an answer to this highly technical question. Nobody here can anwer it.

I've posted this question in general electronic chat, but received no reply. Perhaps I should introduce myself first.

My name is Patrick, I'm an older retired fellow, I retired two years ago, I drive a Harley Sportster and will continue to do so until my legs will no longer straddle the bike. I do a lot of my own work on the bike. I also have experience and education in electical technology, and am still quite interested in the science. I came across this forum while looking thru the internet for information on electronic tachometers.