Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hello, im new and need some help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

slopagafud

Hello everyone my name is Dan and im new to this. I dont have much of an understanding of how circuits work, but, I can use a soldering iron and a multimeter rather well and build/repair things with the aid of a good schematic. That being said, heres my problem: I need to build a timer to turn a 9v device on for 10min, off for 20min, on 10, off 20, and on another 10 min before shutting off completely.I need it to run off a regular 9v batt and be as small as possible.Thankyou for any help you can offer.

You may want to use a microcontroller.
I use the "Picaxe microcontroller".
Very easy to program.

'Untested code for the picaxe microcontroller with no syntax errors. eg.
Code:
switch on 1   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ switches on output 1[/COLOR]
  for b1= 1 to 10
   wait 60   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ waits 60 seconds, 10 times (10 minutes)
[/COLOR]  next b1

switch off 1   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ switches off output 1[/COLOR]
  for b1 = 1 to 20
   wait 60   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ waits 60 seconds, 20 times (20 minutes)
[/COLOR]  next b1

for b1= 1 to 10
   wait 60   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ waits 60 seconds, 10 times (10 minutes)
[/COLOR]  next b1

switch off 1   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ switches off output 1
[/COLOR]  for b1 = 1 to 20
   wait 60   [COLOR=seagreen]‘ waits 60 seconds, 20 times (20 minutes)
[/COLOR]  next b1

for b1= 1 to 10