Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

heated mirror

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnz

Hi there!

Long time interest in electronics and a desire to start my first home project has me thinking I'd like to try to make a heated mirror in the bathroom.

Being a complete newbie to the field but comfortable enough with tools and with experimentation I am looking for some basic advice and /or pointers to get started. Namely:

- I assume I will use resistors to generate the modest amount of heat needed to keep the mirror fog free
- considerations regarding voltage regulation - simple oscillator or would a thermometer setting be advisable to trigger on / off? If so, is it possible to set a specific operating range so that the circuit isn't always being triggered on immediately after the 1st degree drop in temp?
- would I line the back of the mirror with a heat sink to hold heat or is the glass a good enough sink?
- out of simple interest, if I was wanting to design a DC (battery or solar powered) version of this what would be the considerations?
- any other considerations to take into mind?

Thanks!!

John

Welcome to the forum!
One consideration is getting a uniform distribution of heat. That would require either an extensive array of individual resistors or else something like a zig-zagged length of heating element.
You may be surprised at how much power is needed to de-fog the mirror in a steamed-up bathroom.