Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HD44780 chip to control LED matrix display??

Status
Not open for further replies.

haze

Hey guys, Im a noob sorry. I have always loved electronics but never got into the programming side of things. Im hoping someone can just point me in the right direction so i can investigate more...

I have an idea. I essentially want to make a large 1x16 character display made out of LED's that can be controlled via serial port on the fly.

Using a HD44780 (or similar) is the weird thing im suggesting here i guess. Because they interface with PC so easily and there are so many plugins and programs already made for it (like winamp plugins and so forth) i thought it would be a great controller for a LED dot matrix type display. Each pixel that would have displayed on a LCD could be represented by a LED (huge number of LED's i know, i think its gonna be 600 or so)

Now.. is this even possible? Is this a stoopid way to go about it? Am i really going to far to avoid learning about programming?

thanks for your time
Mike

Last edited:
Have a look at MM5450 and MM5451.
These chips take serial data and a clock and drive 34 outputs.
I have used a couple for 7 segment LED displays on a project a couple of years ago.
They worked well.

HD44780 - a seriously bad idea for LEDs!

JimB

Heh. Thanks guys :p