Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Harman Kardon PM660 problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcline

I usually repair guitar amplifiers. But I've been getting into repairing vintage receivers and other devises. I'm self taught and have been doing pretty good so far. I just repaired a Harman Kardon PM660. Well, repaired it for the most part. I had to replace a couple output transistors, a driver transistor and a couple 1/4 watt resistors. It's out in my shop playing right now and sounds great. But sometimes you turn it on and it doesn't work. I get a periodic pop like a breaker is kicking on and off. I play with it a bit and turned it off, let it sit a minute and it started working again. And as I said it's sounds fine. Been playing for about 20 minutes now.
Anyone have any ideas what might be causing this problem? I don't want to give it back to the owner and have this happen to him. The speaker impedance is correct. Thanks in advance.

I'm starting to notice that the amp is kicking out some major heat. And not it kicks out once in a while then kicks back in. Any ideas?

It sounds like you haven't repaired it - there's probably more than the parts you have changed that are faulty. It's unusual that just changing the output transistors repairs an amp, there are usually other faults earlier on in the DC chain which caused them to blow in the first place.