Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Halloween Party Project. Urgent help needed...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sambucaman

Hi all. Guess I'm a newbie here, but I need to ask for some help, so I hope I'm in the right place.

Right then. I am hosting a Halloween party soon, (Well, October so 3 months from now!) and I need help desgining and bulinding a project for the party.

I have a big old house, with big empty fireplaces (never used by us). I want to mount a synthetic skull up inside the chimney, about 1 foot about the hearth, and have it rigged to a timer, so every say 5 or 10 minuets it slowly lowers itself down. I would also like the skull to make a spooky noise, and maybe have flashy led eyes.

I have the skull, its been used at previous halloweens. It weighs about 3kgs, and fits nicely up the inside of the chimney with about 6" room each side.

I dont have much electronics knowledge, but I'm handy with most mechanical stuff. I'm capable of building and installing a frame of some kind to support the skull, what I really need to know is how to control the electronics of it.

Do I use mains?
What kind of motors will i need?
What will be the trigger - timer or motion sensor?
What kind of circuits will be needed?
Is there a pre-built circuit of some kind that will save some work?
MP3's for sound, or good old fashioned dictaphone? etc etc etc