Guitar Distortion Pedal

Status
Not open for further replies.

DomonK

Hi all,

I urgently need help with this distortion pedal that I want to build. I'm quite inexperienced and any electronic education I do have is directly taken from Grade 8 science textbooks as I am only 14.

Here is the diagram:

**broken link removed**

I got this from Schematic Diagram - Free Schematics Download. There it says that it's a boss DS-1 but it isn't. Anyway, this is my first time building a circuit of this level of complexity from a circuit diagram and I need assistance. To the left of the image is a symbol labeled VCC, and I don't know what exactly to do with that. I'm also not sure about what to do with those "Earth" symbols, do I just solder them to the metal casing of the pedal??? Another question I have is what type of capacitors should I use for this. Is there a specific type that suits it better than others?? And lastly, at the input and output, which terminals of the jack sockets do I use???

And by the way I haven't purchased any of these components yet.

Thanks

Last edited:
Your link does not work.
Since you don't know anything about electronics and parts then you might be able to make a kit.

VCC is the positive supply, which is also attached to the (+) (pin7) of the 741. They also forgot to show the (-) from the battery is connected to pin 4 of the 741 as well as the earth symbols. Oh, and they forgot the battery.

Connect earth to the shield of the input and output wires, and to any metal (case?) of the unit. The capacitors probably aren't critical since this is a distortion generating circuit. I would use whatever I had lying around.

Sorry about the link not working.

http://www.schematicx.com/view-schematic/boss-ds-1-distortion-pedal-schematic/

This link should take you to the download page.

The thing is I would buy a kit if I could. But I can't, I just can't find a kit where a live, South Africa.