Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Grounding with anti-static wrist bands

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthew6

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and have read in a "For Dummies" book that to properly ground oneself to work on electronics projects, one needs to run a wire from a cold water pipe to one's workspace to attach the wrist strap to.

This won't be very easy in my case, and I'm wondering about other options:

1. Can I just clip the wrist strap to the metal case of an appliance (e.g. computer) that is plugged in to a grounded outlet?
I'm in the United States (NM), in case that matters...

2. Alternatively, can I take a child safety outlet cover and drill a hole in it where the ground should be, place a wire through it, and run that wire to my workspace to attach to the wriststrap, or is this a crazy and dangerous thing to do?

3. I have a nearby coaxial cable outlet (in use): Is there someway I can creatively ground myself this way?

Thanks!
-Matt

matthew6 said:
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and have read in a "For Dummies" book that to properly ground oneself to work on electronics projects, one needs to run a wire from a cold water pipe to one's workspace to attach the wrist strap to.

This won't be very easy in my case, and I'm wondering about other options:

1. Can I just clip the wrist strap to the metal case of an appliance (e.g. computer) that is plugged in to a grounded outlet?
I'm in the United States (NM), in case that matters...