Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Glowing LEDs and 12v motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

blckscab

Im making a wood sculpture which is powered by the mains (uk, which i think is 240v) and requires a motor to move a part of it, and i want a few red LEDs to 'glow' (as in brighter -> dimmer -> brighter etc and so forth) around it lighting up the rotating piece.

The only problem is that i have no knowledge on electronics at all and wondered into a area i am not familiar with. So i have come seeking for your guidance :p...

I have found a few components that i figured could be of use and saved...

A few plug adapters that convert mains into 12V (AC and DC), switches and a AC 12v 50/60HZ 1/1.5w motor.

Obviously i can buy more components

But can anyone help a or produce a simple schematic showing how i can wire all these up without blowing myself up or burn my home down, lol.
If it makes it easier, i dont have to go for the glowing affect. Since im guessing that would be going into complicated stuff. Would be good to have though.

Any help would be great! Thank you :eek::)

Last edited:
Go for a 12VAC adaptor and make sure it provides enough power for your motor.

The LEDs will require DC so you need a filer capacitor and a bridge rectifier. For the fading effect, I recommend the circuit linked below.

I clicked on the Video and heard an American advertisment. The guy spoke some syllables so fast that it sounded like he is hyper or on drugs.