Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Giant cylindrical color organ/VU meter for a nightclub

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjkelly93

Im buying into this nightclub and im looking at doing something for a wow factor in the club. There are these giant cylindrical "cages", ill post a picture, on both sides of the dance floor that we want to remove. Im thinking i can convert them into like VU towers that are round. I have some experience building arduino controlled LED columns but this would be totally different. This time im swinging for the fences.

Picture a 6' cylinder thats like ten feet tall. Im thinking wrapping like 1 foot sections of plexiglass around the cylinder horizontally so there are ten different sections of plexiglass. Im thinking using SMD 5050 lights on the edges of the plexiglass.

What id like to do is have the color of all the SMD 50/50 correspond to the frequency of the music. So when the bass hits its blue, mids are red, highs are green. Ive done this before with an MSGEQ7 and it looks amazing. I can upload a video to youtube of the columns in action if anyone wants to see it.

The question is, can i do that and have the sections of the cylinder light up from bottom to top based on intesity?

Attachments

• cage.jpg
    cage.jpg
    446.4 KB · Views: 399
something like this
FFY8JG1HKZ9ITP5.jpg