Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting started

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, I'm just getting started with electronics and I was wondering where I could learn all the bits and bobs/pieces/tool set that can be used to make all the circuits? I d/l some circuit design software, trying Vutrax at the moment, not sure if it has built in circuit testing to make sure the circuit will work but hopefully it does but anyway... I d/l the software and I tried designing a circuit and hit a pretty big road bump straight away... there's no easy to use, user friendly interface when sifting through the parts and they all seem to be labelled by their codes which I of course don't know. Is there some encyclopaedia of all these parts somewhere. I recall my dad was explaining resistors to me a long long long time ago and I just remember that the bands meant different resistances and he seemed to know all of that stuff so obviously there's a list that links the codes to what they are somewhere or something like that.