Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

generator cct

Status
Not open for further replies.

tim0611

Newbie here looking for help with a circuit for a generator to charge the battery on a large remote control helicopter.
Basically I'm looking to mechanically drive a brushless motor (3 phase) from the output shaft of the engine, rectify this and use a voltage regulator to supply 5.6v to my battery pack.This would allow me to fly almost continually (dependant on the petrol tank level) without having to worry about voltage dropping in my electronics.
I am an electrician by trade have soldering and pcb manufacturing knowledge from my apprenticeship, just cant remember anything about cct design!! it was 20 years ago :) so really I need a boffin who could tell me what components to use and a connection diagram.Any advice greatly appreciated.

I don't know if I can help, but anyone who attempts to will need to know the output voltage and frequency (and current output capability, if you know it) of the generator.

Also, the kind of batteries that you are using might be helpful, some of them require a special charging procedure.

oh and ummm....whats a boffin? :?

generator info

ok guys here goes :
output from generator is 6.5v ac
KV = 850 rpm/volt
Rm=0,169 ohms
IO=0.6A
Unregulated o/put =12v 10A
After regulator 5.4-5.6v
Batteries used will be Nicad 1400mah