Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Generating one pulse per second using MSP430 and an external oscillator

Status
Not open for further replies.

omerdf

Hello ,
I'm new to this field of microcontroller and i need you quick help with a new project of mine.
I will explain a little about the project :
My main goal is to generate a 1 pulse per second using a duty cycle of 50% by a 12.8MHz external oscillator.
I already have a printed PCB for that project which means i got to understand what the previous designer had done and implement it into my CCS program in order to program my micro controller.
i am still new to this whole microcontroller world and im eager to know more , although im short in time.

I have attached an electrical wiring of the PCB to help you understand a little bit more about the project.

A little explanation of the electrical wiring:
An external toggle switch (from connector J6 "Internal/External Selection") switch between an external 1pps (From an external GPS) or internal 1pps (by the msp430).
if we choose an internal mode then (input P2.2) a '1' (or '0' if its an active low mode which is an active low mode) sends from PJ.3 (ouput) to U4 and a 1 pulse per second gets out of P2.4 output to connectors J8 and J9 (same pulse different connectors).

I can Switch signals to ON/BAD/OFF by using an external toggle switch(pins 1,2 of J3 connector) or a descrete (pin 3 of J3 connector).