Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

General advice... lots of LEDs...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hippogriff

Afternoon all,

If anyone has read my posts before, they'll know I'm just starting out with pretty basic electronics, JAL is my language of choice and the PIC 16F628a has now been superseded by the PIC 12F683 as my PIC of choice. I can effectively solder veroboard and most of my stuff has been playing around with those powerful 3 watt RGB LEDs to create mood lamps using software PWM... I honestly think LEDs are really cool. I also have some RGB LED strip that I'm intending to build a wall washer out of... when I can find the right wall!

My question is all about LEDs... but more of them. Using a PIC 16F628a I had quite a few output pins, with the 12F683 I obviously have less. Considering that these RGB LEDs require three output pins, I am wondering what would be my best strategy if I wanted to drive more than 1 RGB LED for same project - and by "more than 1" I mean the LEDs could be different colours at different times, so I'm talking about addressing them / controlling them discretely / separately.

With a PIC 16F683, and its 8 pins, I guess I could drive 2... with a PIC 16F628a I guess I could control a few more.