Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Gear indicator circuit for a motorcycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

kveldulv

Hey guys new to this forum and new to electronics. I have tinkered with 555 timers for flashing, counting, etc a little but thats about the extent of my knowledge so i am trying to get some expert help here. I am a complete noob so please be civil with me i am going to have a lot of stupid questions.

I am on a project to make a gear indicator circuit for my motorcycle so when i shift the gear up or down it will correctly tell me what gear I am in. Before anyone jumps to conclusions, yes its possible and there was a guy years ago that had a friend build a circuit (which i have the schematics to) that does just this along with instructions on how to modify the neutral sensor indicator to my motorcycle.

Now i have attempted to contact both of the guys that completed this project years ago but they are no longer part of the forums or no longer log in so this is the reason i am here.

First here is the website of the instructions for modification.

Mr. Clean & Ace280's Gear Indicator

There is a schematic at the very end of the page that i am working with along with a list of parts. I will post these below.;

Now i have already ordered and received all the parts listed in the gear parts list.txt attached to this post.

The issue i am having is making heads or tails of the schematic.

So here are my questions: