Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Gain and amplitude of a LC oscillator with a non ideal OPAMP

Status
Not open for further replies.

d_sl4y3r

I'm studying for electronics, but I'm lost with this exercise.

Consider the following oscillator in the picture.

The AMPOP is not ideal: Rin=1k, Rout=1.
How do I determine the minimal voltage gain Av in order for the circuit to function?

Also, the RMS current that feeds the AMPOP is 4mA.
Ignoring the small internal loss of the amplifier, how do I define the oscillation amplitude at the terminals of the LC section?

Attachments

• lc_negimp.jpg
    lc_negimp.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 3,009
Hi,

I'm afraid you're a little too vague with your spec's.
What voltage gain are you talking about, are you saying that the amplifier is not a true op amp and that you can set the internal gain, or do you expect to set the gain with the 10k resistor?
Also, what do you mean by "4ma rms feeding the amplifier", where is that exactly?

I think the voltage gain in question must be Avmin=A/(1+BA).
And I think the RMS current charge of 4mA is the one going through Rf, but no more detail is given in the problem.

This is really a poor quality OPAMP for exercising purpose.
I suppose the idea is to understand the effect of the intrinsic "imperfection".

Also, I think the OPAMP here is implementing a negative impedance, to compensate for the energy loss of the LC circuit.