Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FUN, This is how you make lightning strike your yard 3 times in 5 minutes. FUN

Status
Not open for further replies.

gary350

Spring is here, it is time to have some fun with lightning. I have been doing this for 20 years.

I buy a 3 pack of small Estes model rocket engines so I can make 3 stick rockets. I set up the 3 rockets in the back yard about 5 feet apart on 3 seperate launch pads. I use 3 dead man switches to fire off the rockets 1 by 1. A dead man switch is a normally closed switch that is held open with some thing like a piece of wood or anything that can be pull out suddenly with a 100 foot long NONE CONDUCTIVE kite string. Connect the switch to the electric ignitor and the battery. Put a plastic zip lock bag over the rockets to protect them from humidity and moisture while you wait for the next thrunder storm.

I put about 1000 feet of wire on a spool but in only needs about 500 feet of #30 copper wire on a spool just like they do on a fishing reel. Attach the copper wire to the bottom end of the 24" long stick rocket.

Have all 3 kites strings about 100 feet long ready to unroll to the back door of the house.