Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Frquency/Sound Creator

Status
Not open for further replies.

aren55555

Hi there, I am a high school student, and for a computer engineering project I am looking to build a circuit that can play 5 different notes or frequencies similar to those from a piano. I have looked all over the net, and to my dismay I never found a circuit I was looking for. Basically I want to build a simple circuit first that can play just one frquency, test out the different components to see how they affect the rsulting frequency (ex. if a variable capacitor changes the frquency, i will set it to the right amount to produce the correct frequency) then i will build 4 more with the correct frquencies i am looking for attach push-button switches and play it like a piano (just for reference my frequencies are 174.6Hz,185.0Hz,196.0Hz,233.1Hz, and 261.6Hz. It would be much appreciated if somone could please point me in the right direction. Thanks!!!:eek:

If you want a sine wave output, you might want to try a "Wein Bridge Oscillator".
Here's a link:**broken link removed**
Jeff

Its actually quite easy to do with a 555 timer, you just vary the resistance of a resistor. Research 555 timers... there is a lot of information out there about them. If you need sine out with that, you can run the square wave through two integrators.

Somebody on one of these forums is also making an electronic piano. Except his has many oscillators so he can play many notes at a time making chords.