Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fixing a buzz in a Behringer audio mixer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airlane

I'm a musician, not any kind of electronics engineer. I've had a Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB audio mixer for a couple of years. I bought it new. From the start, there was an audible buzz from it at all times, although it isn't present in the audio signal. The mixer has a separate mains transformer which doesn't buzz. Is there a relatively obvious reason for this buzz (Behringer is a low-cost company, with all its products made in China)? Is there also a relatively simple solution? I can use a soldering iron.

I can't find any internal photos of that unit online, so it's guesswork.

A noise from the device could be from an internal switched mode supply; the inductors used in some types can vibrate slightly and that may be audible.

According to the user manual the power supply only provides 15V; and the unit has 48V phantom power for the mic inputs, so I'd guess there is an inverter in there somewhere..

A quick google search of your mixer yields lots of software adjustment-based solutions. Apparently an overdriven or oscillating amp...

I can't find any internal photos of that unit online, so it's guesswork.

A noise from the device could be from an internal switched mode supply; the inductors used in some types can vibrate slightly and that may be audible.