Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fixing a battery charger.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tip-C

Hello,

I have some limited knowledge of electronics, thus im here to ask for help.

I have a normal Ni-Mh battery charger capable of charging AA, AAA and the 9V rectangular batteries.

After doing a few tests with a multi meter, i came to the conclusion that the Transformer inside is broken as no current passes trough it!

My question is does any body know the specifications of a transformer that would go into this type of battery charger???

Input has to be 120V im looking for the output!

Thanks guys!
Dennis

That's a tough one. Can you post a good macro picture of the innards of the beast? It is unlikely we'll be able to tell from just a picture, but it's more than we have to go on right now. You'll probably have to buy a new charger anyway as the transformer is unlikely to be easy to find and purchase.

If you can read the voltage rating of the little fat filter capacitors that follow the transformer's diode bridge, it will give an idea.

The cap is a 100 microfarad with a voltage of 25V.

Here is some additional info that might help.

There are 5 wires on the output of the transformer...
2 white, 2 red and a black.