Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First Time Making PCB: Suppliers, Hints, ETC

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Souper man

Its my first time making a pcb, well actually when I typed This it was etching, So I was Wondering:

What to get:
What to Use:
Suppliers of stuff:
Hints:
any other thing:

Also, where can I find really small drill bits, along with hints on IC holes

• 1mm is good enough for most components.
  • SMT components can be good as you don't need to do much drilling, there again through hole can be good too (especially resistors) as you can lay many tracks underneath them.
    I normally use the toner transfer process with magazine paper for simple boards ant the photo process for complex boards that need a high degree of accuracy.
  • I haven't bought any PCB stuff for years, I got some sodium persulphate crystals from Maplins and some boards about eight years ago and for the most part it's lasted me, I have borrowed a few boads from college before I left though.

Nigel: Oh! thats where I went wrong (ha ha)!

Hero: I am a super noob, so sodium persulphate and magazine paper could mean anything to me.

I AM JUST STARTING THIS TODAY LOL!

Also, it says to dump the ferric chloride down the toilet! Is this right?!?

First, search this forum for threads about making PCBs, toner transfer, drill bits... We go through this about once a month, so plenty of good reading, some even a little amusing.