Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First Post, Basic Questions ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

budidharma

Hello All,
This is my first post. I'm new to electronics; I'm trying to teach myself through books and internet resources, so, if your opposed to answering very basic questions, read no further. :)

I've a few questions, really.

The first: I understand that a capacitor is two electrodes, separated by a non-conducting dialectric. The purpose of a capacitor is to store electrons, right? I don't understand how this works, really. Typically, in order for electrons to flow through a circuit, they must have a complete path (closed circuit) from the negative terminal of the power source to the postive terminal. Why then, if you put a capacitor in the middle of the circuit (which effectively breaks the circuit, as far as I've learned), will they still flow into the capacitor, and stay there until discharged?

The second: I've seen several schematics to build a benchtop power supply - mostly from books and I'm not sure as how to post schematics, so I'll describe it, I'm sure you'll understand. The most simple was a standard 9V power supply, it used AC IN to a 120V->6.3V transformer @ 60hz, to a 4-way bridge rectifier, connected to DC + and -, which had a 3300uF capacitor. I hope this makes sense.

I don't understand the purpose of the capacitor. I believe it's got something to do with smoothing current spikes, but im not positive.