Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

first electronics project

Status
Not open for further replies.

superbenny

So I'm just getting into electronics, and as my first project, I want to make a switch box that will turn the "party lights" on in my basement. they will consist of various consumer light banks, strobes, black lights, and random other lights. I want to make a switch box that will make turning it all on EPIC.

So for the switch box, I was thinking of (on a hobby box) having three switches (here) and as they are switched, have them light up LEDs above them. then under that, have some sort of EPIC button that will turn it all on.

heres an image i threw together (sorry for the awful paint job, the actual image im working on in illustrator/photoshop isnt available currently)
**broken link removed**

in the image the three red boxes are the toggle switches, the blue circles are the LEDs that would be illuminated by each toggle, and the big red circle is the EPIC button.

so what i'm asking, from a logistics standpoint is: how do i do it?:confused:

like i said this is my first project, and i have no idea how to go about doing this. there will probably be high voltage running thru this, so that needs to be taken into consideration. possibly have this circuit activate a different circuit that handles the voltage of the lights? i dont even know if that's possible.