Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First 4 layer pcb attempt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Makaram

https://i.imgur.com/hhSIIlZ.jpg
Link to picture showing all 4 layers.
This is my first attempt at 4 layer pcbs and would like some expert advice.
E.g. hows that pour stitching looking? Too little? Do I need the top and bottom ground planes?

The circuit is essentially a RN42 bluetooth modules, a pic32mx220f032d, a buck regulator and an H bridge hopefully capable of up to 15A @ 12v.

As for EMI reduction I've got a ferrite bead and 1nF bypass cap feeding the 3.3v plane for my mcu and all the RF stuff is handled by the RN42 module.

Thanks for any advice you guys can provide.

It looks like you have done this before. Good wide traces. Lots of copper. Many feed-throughs in parallel.

You feed-through clearance is larger than I use.
Is there a thermal pad under the 44 pin IC?

Thanks, that's very encouraging to hear as I'm self taught so am often unsure of my designs.
Does the term 'feed-through' refer to the via arrays used to connect pours?
There is no thermal pad under the Pic but I feel that my choice of mcu might be overkill in the end and may opt of a qfn package later.

via....yes

I did not look to see what the heat rise is on the high current traces. Some times I do not put solder mask over the high current traces. The solder build up helps a little. The solder mask is a insulator for heat. If you remove solder mask talk to me first.