Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

fiber optics

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyb0rg777

What is the cheapest wayt to set up a fiber optic link?
I need to transmit a signal up to 500 yards.
Also it should be very strong .And I need to tie it in a knot.
Basicaly ,I need to use in place of fishing line but still transmit data.
I have no experience with fiber optics so I need to know if this is possible and what I need to do it.

Thank you.

fiber optic cable can't be tied into a knot and isn't made for load bearing- it is just glass rod after all. its not rope.

I guess I was hoping maybe there was some kind of new fiber.

If I used regular optical fiber could I use regular ir diode and phototransistor
or do I need special made ones?

You could use regular old fishing line for a fiber optic cable if you wanted to no idea what kind of performance you'd get at 1500ft.

fiber optic cable can't be tied into a knot and isn't made for load bearing- it is just glass rod after all. its not rope.

No. Not true. At our school, our uplink is fiber optic. We have a ~3 foot fiber cable from the wall to the main switch tied into two knots for support.

I would not imagine that it would be very stable if the cable was any longer, but at about three feet it works. ;)

I've been researching the subject.
This guy did some experiments with rishing line.

**broken link removed**

You can see he didn't get it to work.
The wikipedia page,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiber_optic