Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ferric chloride question

Status
Not open for further replies.

hk3432

I am new to making my own PCBs and just got a bottle of Ferric chloride and would like to give this a try but have two questions about safety/disposal. I have seen many articles about this stuff (and videos) most were not wearing a respirator and some were doing it indoors, should I use a mask even while outside? What about proper disposal of Ferric chloride water that has been used for rinsing, is this safe to poor down the drain? (Not the actual acid bath)

Thanks.

Ferric chloride, if heated, will release HCl. It is unlikely your respirator will block that, unless you have something with activated carbon. In this day and age it is impossible to tell someone not to take a safety precaution. I do not and have never worn a respirator when dealing with ferric chloride indoors or out. Your material is in solution as well. That reduces the risk from the dust considerably. Eye protection is important. Be sure not to omit that.

As for disposal, just consider that the major use of ferric chloride is for sewage and water treatment. It is also used in many areas to kill roots that invade sewage lines. The risk in sewage is not from the ferric chloride, but from the copper salts that are produced during etching. To that end, I minimize the amount of copper that is removed by using copper pours.