Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fading Light Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

neiltdi

Hi,

I'm totally new to electronics so i hope someone can help me! I want to rig a neon light to the footwells of my car. That part is quite easy and i think i can do that but I want it to work when the door opens again quite easy. The difficult part is getting it to fade on and off not just turn on and off, i think this is possible using a resistor and a capacitor but I havent a clue how to do it! Also It would be good to have the neon on a hard switch as well as on the door so they could be switched on manually, so will it be possible to have one neon conected to two types of switches??

Many thanks in advance

Neil.

Sure, you can have 2 switches. Just rig your "hard" switch before the door switch in series. This will allow your "hard" switch to have the ultimate say in when power is applied. Thus, if the hard switch if off, the circuit wont receive power regardless if the door is opened or not. With the hard switch on, the circuit will receive power when the door is opened.

power-->>"hard" switch-->>door switch-->>to your circuit.

whoa whoa whoa!! :oops: Slow down mate! Series?? I really am not great would that be to make the circuit with the hard switch then add a door switch through the hard switch or around it?? :shock: :? :roll:
I dont even understand what I mean so I dont know how I expect you too???

Crude Diagram