Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

external volume control between power amp and speaker

Status
Not open for further replies.

missinglink

Hi everyone. Newbie here. I just want to ask if it's possible to put an external/additional volume control/potentiometer between the power amp and the speaker. I understand that the power amp outputs not only audio signal but electricity. I'm just wondering if there's a special kind of pot to do the job. Thanks in advance and looking forward to your reply.

Last edited:
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I just want to ask if it's possible to put an external/additional volume control/potentiometer between the power amp and the speaker. I understand that the power amp outputs not only audio signal but electricity. I'm just wondering if there's a special kind of pot to do the job. Thanks in advance and looking forward to your reply.

You need a special VERY high power wirewound potentiometer, it has to withstand the full output power of the amplifier.

It's a pretty poor solution, and only used normally in 100V line PA systems, where each speaker is only relatively low power.

It generally isn't practical.

When you said "I understand that the power amp outputs not only audio signal but electricity", that is sort of correct, but all signals that travel in wires are electricity. The power levels at the output of a power amplifier are much larger than the power levels for signal lines, such as the input of a power amplifier.