Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Energy to a light blub, very basic question

Status
Not open for further replies.

metomeya

Okay, like I'm mentioned before i'm a complete noob.......

Anyways a flourescent lightbulb, you know how it has two prongs on each side (a total of four).

Can you tell which ones are negative, or positive? Is it positive on one side, and negative on the other. Or is one prong negative and one positive for each side?

I think its a custom sized one, how do you suggestion I go about hooking it up for power (one 15 watt flourescent tube, about 8" to 10" inches)?

thanks

Well let me ask this, if I only have the wattage and # of bulbs to go by..(15 watts, 16 bulbs).

How do I know what voltage, and hertz to buy for my ballast?

A ballast will power only one or two fluorescent tubes.
The voltage and Hertz ratings of the ballast must match your mains AC electricity.

You should select a ballast that is made for powering the tubes you have. Your tubes should have part numbers on them. The proper ballast will list the part number of the tube it is designed for.

. .

Attachments

• RS's guide to fluro tubes.pdf
    114.9 KB · Views: 370
problem is its proprietary parts.

I found one ballast that does 4, 17-watt bulbs

I have 16, 15-watt bulbs.

So can connect four of these ballasts together for my 16 bulbs?

Last edited:
What do you mean by proprietary parts? There are standarda for fluroescent tubes.