Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronics Workbench

Status
Not open for further replies.

rtinbr

I am new to Electronics, just finishing my first few courses.

Can anyone recommend or send links to me on products to get or allready made to make up a good experimental workbench. I would like to do some work at home in addition to the limited school labs we are doing.

Should I go with something like a Radio Shack Project Kit (around $65), or one of those 200 or 500 in 1 project kits, or try to buy breadboards, components, powersupply's etc myself. That sounds kinda expensive.

Thanks

Personally, I started with the Radio Shack Sensor Lab and Learning Lab when I was 13 (got them for Christmas). That was a bit safer to work with because it was battery powered -- I never blew anything up. After working with those I moved on to the more expensive stuff, but still use the Labs for VERY quick proto work.

Bottom line: If you're new, start small and work your way up so you're not surrounded by equipment that you just barely know how to use.