Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronics Newbie and just joined

Status
Not open for further replies.

j7512

Hello Everyone,
I just joined and I'm hoping to learn a lot. I'm currently studying Computer Science and upon learning I got interested in the Hardware side of computers which lead me to electronics which eventually lead me here. I have REAL no idea where to start and I want to know where I should start? I already have a soldering kit with a book on soldering. I've read up about a lot of things about electronics on the internet.

So far this is all I know:
- Flux is the chemical inside the solder, that removes oxidation from the metals. Letting the user to easily fuse the solder to the component on the printed circuit board.

- Solder, usually made of tin or lead and it is used to fuse the PCB(Printed Circuit Boards) and the components together.

- De-solder pump, it sucks away the solder but you must heat up the solder around the component before sucking it in. There are many other ways to de-solder, including solder wick, desoldering resin I think it's called.

- ROM Chips, Read Only Memory my guess from what I know from Computer Science is that these store data that cannot be erased or modified and I only know that these can be found in Game Boy Game Cartridges.

- Microchips are just integrated circuits, correct me if I'm wrong. Microchips come in many forms, such as Memory Controllers, CPUs, RAM, ROM and etc.