Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electric Ceramic Heating

Status
Not open for further replies.

R_Pyste

Hi there, Im trying to design a heating module to quickly heat a small particle (~1-2mm) to around 1500C in air. Im going to use a MoSi2 coil or similar to do this. The coil i am considering has a diameter of 25mm with wire diameter 3mm, 5 turns and hot zone length 50mm. This equates to a total of around 20cm of hot wire.
I am a mechanical engineer and so am a bit lost with the electronics side of things. Could anyone give me a hand?
The way i figure it is, thermodynamics tells us that
Q=Aσε(T^4) and Q=hΔT
and Q=I²R
So does this mean we can deduce the required current if we know the properties of the element (surface area A, convective heat transfer coefficient h, emissivity ε, temp T and resistance R)
I would like to use Uk mains voltage and I understand that I will need a thyristor and transformer of some sort. Does anyone know of any beginner guides to designing a system like this?
I was planning on using a feedback system with a series, cooled resistor in order to approximate the resistance and hence temperature of the element.

If anyone has any advice or comments, they would be much appreciated!