Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

EIT( engineer in training) is this important to have??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cubdh23

Hi i am a recent graduate in EE and i have seen very few jobs that ask for this, but i have seen it. First of all, what exactly is it? Is it just a test that you take, sorta like the GRE but is used by employers to test your general knowledge of engineering? Do you think it is worth the investment to take the EIT or do you think EIT is overrated?? Any comments would be appreciated.

cubdh23 said:
Hi i am a recent graduate in EE and i have seen very few jobs that ask for this, but i have seen it. First of all, what exactly is it? Is it just a test that you take, sorta like the GRE but is used by employers to test your general knowledge of engineering? Do you think it is worth the investment to take the EIT or do you think EIT is overrated?? Any comments would be appreciated.

I have my EIT and when I was almost ready to graduate, my school offered the training and testing for this so it was very convenient for most of us to just take it. The primary reason that someone might wish to get this certification is so they can ultimately get PE licensed. For PE licensing, one must have completed the fundamentals of engineering exam (i.e. EIT).