Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Eclipse IDE for ARM, AVR, and PIC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

linuxguy

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to microcontrollers and have just started working with the 18F series PICs and 30F series dsPICs. However, at some point, I also want to work with AVR, and ARM MCUs. Right now, it looks like I could be stuck learning three different IDEs (one for each MCU type), which is not desirable.

I know that the Eclipse IDE can work with many different toolchains. I have MPLAB and C18/C30 for PICs, just installed AVR Studio 4.13/WinAVR for AVRs, and so have WinARM installed which is just the toolchain with no IDE so far.

Is it possible to integrate these three toolchains into the Eclipse IDE?

Is a custom plugin required for each toolchain?

For instance, I believe CodeSourcery uses Eclipse for their G++ development systems. I have not found anyone who uses Eclipse for AVRs yet, nor have I found a plugin for the C18/mpasm/C30 toolchains. There is a Yagarto ARM toolchain that works with Eclipse also, but I am not sure it would integrate into a standard Eclipse installation. Yagarto has a release of Eclipse that does use their ARM toolchain though.

Can I get to where I would like to be and have Eclipse for all these MCU types? The other very nice thing is Eclipse is available for both Linux and Windows, so only one IDE would have to be learned for both OSes.

8-Dale

ok...

ya...

you are very fast..