Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Dumb Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ormo

Hi,

I'm very new to PIC programming and this is an incredibly dumb question but I don't seem to be able to get my head around selecting banks.

I am writing for a PIC16F628A and I'm having trouble selecting which bank I am working with. Could someone please tell me the assembly code needed for selecting the different banks? Thanks!

You could always use an AVR and not worry about banking =)

Hi,

I'm very new to PIC programming and this is an incredibly dumb question but I don't seem to be able to get my head around selecting banks.

I am writing for a PIC16F628A and I'm having trouble selecting which bank I am working with. Could someone please tell me the assembly code needed for selecting the different banks? Thanks!
Hi,
You need to read the datasheet.

i need a circiut to work out with pic. but i have totally no idea about it. can anyone help me? is there a standard pic circuit that can suitable for all applications?

A simple method I use, when compiling in MPLAB is the built in macro 'banksel'.

For example if you need to select the 'intcon' register, before you do anything use 'banksel intcon'. If you then compile and open the code listing ( *lst file in the same DIR as the assembly) you'll see that MPLAB replcaes this with the two BSF/BCF commands to select the correct bank of the register.

MPLAB has many built in macro's for common 'small' snippets of code, such as: