Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Dumb Question from noob: My 9V battery not working?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zef

Hello there everyone,

I am a noob to the world of electronics. I recently bought a multimeter INNOVA 3310 from iEquus. An Energizer 9V battery recently died (it was being used in the personal weighing machine that I have) and I wanted to verify that the voltage was indeed not there. When used my multimeter on it, it gave me a reading of 8.38V. What exactly does this mean? Why was the weighing machine not using this battery? Because it was just a little bit below 9V? Does that mean I can use this battery elsewhere where less than 9V is required or should I just throw the battery away?

It is not about the battery, but about the general concept of non-chargeable batteries if they can be reused even if they fall below their voltage level.

I seek enlightenment :) Any comments will be appreciated.

Zef

zef said:
Hello there everyone,