Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

dsPIC or ARM - Which way to go?

Status
Not open for further replies.

winterhunter

Dear All,

I'm quite new to the microcontroller world (though I have been playing around with a C-Control Unit - a 68HC12 loaded with a BASIC interpreter and a very unstable "OS").

I would like to now build a SCADA system to control things around my home (HVAC, alarm, etc.), and after looking around a bit, I'm seriously considering either a dsPIC30F or an ARM 7 core (probably an LPC21XX or AT9SAM). The main issue behind my choice is scalability of the system, which I plan on implementing using a preemptive task/thread scheduler or a small RTOS (eCOS, FreeRTOS, or others). Each new function that I will later add will simply be a new task/thread in the system.

Two µcontrollers that seem to be very well supported and have enough RAM are the dsPIC30F and the ARM7.

I have now a couple of questions regarding the tools that are available for the ARM processors :
+ Are there any free or cheap IDEs?
+ What about compilers/simulators/debuggers?
+ Is I use the JTAG interface, is it well supported by the available debuggers?
+ All these aforementioned programs, do they run on Windows? Linux?
+ I came across two providers that sell affordable development boards : OLIMEX and MIKROELECTRONIKA? Do you recommend them? Do you know of others (preferably inside the EU)?

Of course, any other ideas/comments/suggestions are very much welcome!

Thanks a lot.

Kind regards,