Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Drop some knowledge on me....

Status
Not open for further replies.

duke22

This is a 2-part question. Bear in mind, I'm a financial analyst and have little to no knowledge of circuits aside from what I learned in physics in high school and what I have read on the internet.

1) I want to create a circuit for my sliding door that emits a customized sound when the door (and the circuit) is closed. I want 2 thin, flat metal surfaces (roughly the size of a quarter ? if possible,p referably malleable). I would put one piece on the wall and the other on the door. When the door is closed, the surfaces would touch and complete a circuit. Wires would run from the metal surfaces to a chip (? not sure what the appropriate piece would be) that would emit the customized sound. Is it possible to construct this?

2) Where can I purchase the materials for this project? What would the specific materials be (especially for the chip/piece emitting the run)?

I know it sounds really f-ing dumb. I thought about this as a solution to my girlfriend always closing my sliding door when I want it open. And now that the idea has crossed my mind, I want to do it to kinda prove to myself that I can do it.

Kinda like this link: https://www.ehow.com/how_12139967_make-burglar-alarm-bedroom-door-buzzer.html

Except I want the sound to be customized (i.e. OPEN THE DOOR!) It sounds really simple in my mind, but I'm sure it's more complicated than I think. Please help!!!!

Thanks,
D