Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Drive Relay with Servo Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

apg88

I have a 4 port servo controller, two ports are being used by servos and I need the third one to drive a relay.

The servos work with a Pulse Modulated Signal, so I don't know if the relay will work with it.
I was thinking of using a capacitor to make the signal always-on when the pulses are going and turn of if there are none.
I'm not very good with electronics, so I don't really know where to put what and if it will work.

Thanks,

Alvaro

No, PWM will not work. But if you can use the controller to supply a 100% duty cycle PWM (and I mean absolutetely 100%) then it should work assuming the controller can provide enough current to power the relay (this is probably going to be the biggest problem if you are using a medium sized or larger relay). Personally, I don't think you really need a capacitor- you can just use code or whatever to make a 100% PWM pulse can't you. I don't think the cap would work the way you think it might either, because of the current demand- it's not just voltage a relay needs.

BTW put a diode in reverse parallel to your relay control terminals to protect the electronics against voltage spikes from turning the relay off (disconnecting power to the inductive magnetic coil). Reverse parallel- in the direction so doesn't short the PWM pulse across the relay control terminals but allows current to flow in a loop around the relay coil and diode.