Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Door Monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigBill

I am looking to build a wired door monitor. I am a newbie to this.
I am thinking about something like this:
Normally Closed Magnetic switch attached to the door so that when the door is open it completes the circuit and lights a flashing red LED.
I was hoping this could be done using a single AA battery. I have searched the web and this forum but I guess this is too simplistic for anyone to have written it down.
Anyone have a diagram of what the circuit would need to look like and any parts I would need?
Thanks,
Bill

Do you mean a normally open switch and when door open's completes the cct flashing an led indicator.:)

Last edited by a moderator:
Most reed relay switches close when the magnet is nearby.

So door closed relay closed.

You need to look at the reed relay driving the base of a PNP transistor via a 1k:eek:hm: resistor, which in its turn switches the power on to the LED.

Door open reed relay open, no drive to PNP transistor and LED is on.
You need to use a pull down resistor at the base circuit. About 2k2:eek:hm: is ok.

RODALCO said:
Most reed relay switches close when the magnet is nearby.

So door closed relay closed.

You need to look at the reed relay driving the base of a PNP transistor via a 1k:eek:hm: resistor, which in its turn switches the power on to the LED.

Door open reed relay open, no drive to PNP transistor and LED is on.