Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Doing an electronics project for employer

Status
Not open for further replies.

windozeuser

It is my first time ever doing any kind of electronics design for my employer, currently I am still a student going for Engineering and my job title does not include engineer or design in it. I have no official contract with the project, but I worked on a working prototype of the design, and want to present it to my boss. I have questions on how to protect myself and design if there is no contract, and about how to ask for a bonus or raise based on the design if it saves the company over $150/unit buying the commercial solution.

Just want real world advice if possible :) kinda nervous and excited at the same time. I figured my working prototype could be used as leverage for a bonus and raise. Since they asked me to design this knowing I'm a student, I dont want to be taken advantage of by doing far superior work beyond my current pay scale and job title.

You allready have a contract: He is your employer. Any work you do is the company's property. You are getting paid, aren't you? Benefits will come, after you do a good job! E