Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Divide by 6 using C and avoiding floating point?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueroomelectronics

I'm doing a dice program using a freerunning timer that automatically and fairly counts from 0-6^x (where x is number of die)
Now one die is easy (I'm a BASIC programmer but want to do it in C18)

So
A single die is roll+1

Two dice are D1=int(roll/6)+1 and D2=(roll mod 6)+1

Any ideas on 3 or more dice? And avoiding floating point...

Isn't it just

D1=roll mod 6
D2=(roll/6) mod 6
D3=(roll/36) mod 6
D4=(roll/216) mod 6
etc.

If you do it in integer maths then it should just work.

Mike.

Does the MCU you're using have a hardware divide instruction or are you useing a maths library?

The x86 does and puts the quotent and remainder in to different registers. Using a high level language like C will probably end up producing two divide instructions, one to get the remainder and another for the quotent which is a wate of clock cycles. I'd recommend doing the division part in assembler, that way you can use one instruction to get both the quotent and remainder.

Hero999 said:
Does the MCU you're using have a hardware divide instruction or are you useing a maths library?