Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Distance measuring device questions....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ppw

Hi all, first off, i want to make clear that i am a welder/fabricator. Please forgive me for my lack of knowledge in the electrical field:) That said, i am working on a project and am wanting to build a measuring device that will be part of the project. The measuring device should be as small as possible, have a working range of min 2-3" to a max of aprox 2'. I am looking at the sharp GP2Y0A21YK which seems to have a range of 4" - 31" which should work fine. I don't need constant measuring, I want to be able to have it be triggered with a button when i am ready to take a measurment and have it send the measurment in mills to a LCD or comparable readout.

My question is, is this possible and am i heading in the right direction with the sharp unit? I can't find any info on accuraccy +- though which is an issue. Is there any info available to a newbie somewhere who is wanting to learn to do such a project? Thanks!

Mitch