Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Discrete Frechet distance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hana

Dear all,

I am facing some problems relating to calculate distance between two shapes.
I studied Frechet distance and wrote an draft code (not yet tested).

Problem:
Calculates the discrete Frechet distance between curves P and Q.

P and Q are two sets of points that define polygonal curves with rows of vertices (data points) and columns of dimensionality. The points along the curves are taken to be in the order as they appear in P and Q.

Return:
1. discrete Frechet distance
2. two points with the Frechet distance

Here are two points I need your help:

1. How to arrange points in the order as they appear in P and Q.
2. How to find out the points in #2 (with discrete Frechet distance).

I attached a file describing Frechet and algorithm I am using for calculating the distance.

Attachments

• Discrete Frechet Distance.pdf
    154.3 KB · Views: 543
Last edited:
Dear all,

I am facing some problems relating to calculate distance between two shapes.
I studied Frechet distance and wrote an draft code (not yet tested).

Problem:
Calculates the discrete Frechet distance between curves P and Q.

P and Q are two sets of points that define polygonal curves with rows of vertices (data points) and columns of dimensionality. The points along the curves are taken to be in the order as they appear in P and Q.

Return:
1. discrete Frechet distance
2. two points with the Frechet distance