Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Directing sound as a concentrated beam?

Status
Not open for further replies.

riccardo49

Excuse any obvious ignorance please. I am a newbie here and one at the end of his tether.

Background: A near neighbour chooses to throw random parties in his yard which run until the early hours of the morning. These must, it seems, be accompanied by amplified music. He is not susceptible to reasonable and polite requests from those neighbours who have regular hours and demanding jobs.

Question: Is it possible to transmit sound in a concentrated beam onto his property? A laser would be inappropriate due to cost and potential damage. I don't want to inflict more noise on the other neighbours; I just want Mr Anti-social to know how it feels to be unable to sleep or concentrate on simple tasks like reading.

It sounds like what you are talking about is an LRAD, a Long Range Accoustic Device. It is being used by several millitaries right now and is still experimental as far as I know so needless to say that it is hard to find out much about it. I do know that it uses some sort of Piezo device to transmit sound as opposed to the standard connical speaker.

The simple answer is yes with a parabolic reflector like a Seattleite dish with a speaker mounted where the LNB would normally go. The larger the dish, the tighter the beam. You may also need to reinforce it since the sound pressure would tend to distort the dish and thus increase the scatter in the side lobes.